About this blog

For three months in 2013 I served as a Human Rights Observer in the occupied Palestinian territory.  I lived and worked in Hebron, in the West Bank, which is one of the most tense places in the Israeli-Palestinian conflict.  My duties included accompanying vulnerable Palestinian children to school, sometimes in the face of violence; monitoring checkpoints which thousands of Palestinian workers have to cross each morning; and supporting Israelis and Palestinians working together for peace and human rights.

This blog tells the stories of some of the people I met and the things I witnessed during my time there.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “About this blog

  1. Mel

    Hi Melanie, I am a Ph.D. student writing a thesis on barriers to education in Palestine, and I wondered if I could show some of your photos (credited of course) from this blog during an upcoming presentation at my university. Please let me know if this would be ok.

Leave a comment